Insight News

Apr 23rd

Four MPS schools earn Wellness by Design awards from Hennepin County

E-mail Print PDF
Hennepin County recognized four Minneapolis public schools with 2009 Wellness by Design School awards. The award recognizes public and private schools that go above and beyond in creating healthy environments for students and staff.

Anishinabe Academy, Lake Nokomis Community School – Keewaydin Campus and Roosevelt High School were presented with Gold Awards. Anne Sullivan Communications Center received a Silver Award.

Throughout the county, 21 schools qualified for an award by meeting specific criteria in promoting safe and healthy lifestyles based on the Centers for Disease Control School Health Index.

The students and staff at each of the schools demonstrated excellent health and wellness practices in areas such as health education, physical education, health services, nutrition, health promotion for staff, counseling, social services, and family and community involvement.

Recent Comments

Powered by Disqus

Facebook Twitter RSS Image Map

Latest show

  • April 22, 2014
    Black film: Cheryl Mousley, senior film curator, Walker Art Center. Dean Otto, film and video manager, Walker Art Center. Andrew Peterson, executive director, IFP Minnesota. Alaina Lewis, producer and filmmaker. Hassan Hassan, aspiring filmmaker.

Business & Community Service Network