Insight News

Feb 07th

Four new directors join Minneapolis school board

E-mail Print PDF
asberry2ellisonbatesreimnitzThe Minneapolis Board of Education elected new officers for chair, vice chair, treasurer and clerk. Alberto Monserrate will serve as chair, Jenny Arneson as vice chair, Richard Mammen as clerk and Rebecca Gagnon as treasurer. The school board voted on the nominations after swearing in four new board members during its annual meeting Tuesday, January 8, bringing the total number of directors to nine.

Newly elected members Josh Reimnitz and Tracine Asberry will represent Districts 4 and 6, respectively. Kim Ellison, who was appointed to the board in January 2010 to fill a vacancy after Lydia Lee resigned, begins her first elected term representing the northwest side of Minneapolis in District 2. The lone returning member this election cycle is Carla Bates. The new members join current board members Monserrate, Arneson, Mammen, Hussein Samatar and Gagnon.


Recent Comments

Powered by Disqus

Facebook Twitter RSS Image Map

Latest show

  • October 20, 2015
    Jessica Jackson, co-pastor, Impact Living Christian Center in South Minneapolis.

Business & Community Service Network